Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys!

I have a Cannondale Trail SL2 29er, and so far I've been loving the bike! However, it only has 80mm of travel, and for the riding I do I think I need a little more. I do mostly singletrack, but the trails I ride are very washed out and full of roots so the 80mm travel is really on the limit.

As I am relatively new to upgrading and buying components for mountain bikes, I would really appreciate some advice. The head tube on the SL2 is 1.5", so I'm wondering If I can buy a tapered fork 1 1/8"-1.5", and get an adapter or something, or if would I have to buy a fork that's 1/5"? All this technical stuff has me really confused. Also, how much more travel can I add? The SL1 has a 100mm fork and uses the same frame, so I thought I could go up to 120mm, or should I just play it safe and go upto 100mm?

My budget for a fork is around $300-450, so if anyone can recommend something good, I would really appreciate it!

Cheers!

·
Registered
14,049 Posts
A Manitou Tower Pro in 100mm should make a difference. Going 120 would slacken your ht angle and slow up the steering a bit.
Cane Creek 40 top headset bearing(call Tech at Cane) should work with a tapered. You could build up a lighter front wheel in 15mm for the best weight drop when combined with the new lighter fork.
m615 or SLX brakes or at least the front are another recommendation. Currently $111.36/pr. for SLX at Ribble with free ship. Change the currency and destination for US price. Jenson should match for the correct lever side orientation(not moto). Sometimes a sale price is worth jumping on.

·
Registered
2,701 Posts