Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
12,646 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm new to eBiking and actually only ride the eBike about 1 in every 10-12 rides or so, but as I've gotten more time in I have some questions about what gearing or pedal cadence is "best" with an eBike while climbing or even spinning on flatter terrain.

The reason I ask is I've discovered that the power delivery feels stronger, smoother, and more constant when I'm in a higher gear, pedaling slower than my normal cadence. And when I say higher gear, I don't mean higher than I would be in on my analog bike, I mean higher than I would be in on my eBike while pedaling the same cadence as my analog bike.

Is this hard on the motor or drain the battery faster? Is it just preference? Seems like low end torque is where the eBike motors really shine. It also lends itself to better traction while climbing steep, loose, or technical sections.

Another observation I've made with the higher gear/slower cadence (or really with e-motor assist in general): I love how effective and easy ratcheting a pedal in tricky climbing sections is, especially once you get used to the half stroke of extra pedal power the motor yields after you stop pedaling. Very useful for super tricky, steppy, tech climbs.

What else should an e-noob know about pedaling with e-assist?

·
Registered
1,753 Posts
I don't own an e-bike. But I would think there are efficiency trade offs at some point. If you crawl uphill in granny on eco at 6kmh at say 70rpm, then surely it's better on the battery than being on turbo and your smallest cog and doing 30rpm for the same speed.

At my local riding spot I see plenty of seat down, tiny cog climbing and assume they must have the power turned all the way up.

·
Registered
12,646 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·