Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just purchased my first mountain bike and I am new to the sport. 3rd day out the chain breaks... Dealer tells me it broke because I had the front and rear gear set to the smallest sprocket and that creates to much tension on the chain which causes it to break and that I am not supposed to do that. Now, if that is the case my bad, however, from my percpective if the option is there why can't it be used...?... Am I in the wrong or is the dealer trying to get out of replacing my chain and adjusting the derailleurs properly on their dime?

·
Who's riding today?
1,422 Posts
Dealer is "sort of" right. If you "cross-chained" and shifted under stress, the lateral forces on the chain could lead to early "grenade" effect. Fundementally, use the small cog in front for the 3 biggest cogs in back, middle front for the middle 3 rear and big chain ring for the 3-4 smallest gears in rear. Practice means perfect, so ride a LOT!!!!

Have fun,
chip

·
Registered
2,024 Posts
CEB said:
Dealer is "sort of" right. If you "cross-chained" and shifted under stress, the lateral forces on the chain could lead to early "grenade" effect. Fundementally, use the small cog in front for the 3 biggest cogs in back, middle front for the middle 3 rear and big chain ring for the 3-4 smallest gears in rear. Practice means perfect, so ride a LOT!!!!

Have fun,
chip
What he said

·
Registered
350 Posts
what he's saying is keep the chain as straight as possible. look down when on your bike and you'll see what i mean

--------- S-----1-----2------3 B

----B----1--2--3--4--5--6--7--8-- S

something like that. Spacing not to scale

S = small B = big
also assuming you have gears like that

so, you should never have your chain going from 1 to 8, or 3 to 1. (gear selectors i mean)

if i've got something wrong someone correct me

·
Time flies...
2,206 Posts