Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding a 2013 Niner Rip9 for a few years now. I'm your basic intermediate rider, that rides technical rocky trails, flow trails and takes 1 or 2 trips to Moab a year. I don't ride drops over 2 feet. Hope that is enough info on my ability. My question is are the new bikes really any different than my Rip9. I've been looking at some new bikes, some 29ers also 27.5. Pivot, intense and Ibis are some that I've looked at. But only on-line since I do not have any bike shops near me. So no chance to demo yet. If the consensus is that the new bikes are that much better than my Rip then I'll take a weekend and travel where I can demo some. Thanks

·
Registered
3,048 Posts
Better? Depends on what you are looking to impove on your ride. Is your bike stiff, slack, light, flickable, plush, firm, and stable enough? Do you want a bike more capable in technical sections or more playful on flow trails? I don't think the new bikes are that much better, but I'm not a big fan of the new geometry and don't push my bikes to their limits that often. One thing worth considering is the plus tires. If that is something you might consider, then start shopping!

·
Registered
123 Posts