Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to biking and I decided earlier this year to get a 2005 Rocky Mountain Vapor as a beginner's bike.

I noticed when the chain is on the largest chainring at the front and the smallest at the back, under heavy pedalling, the chain rubs against the front derailleur. The Local bike shop here adjusted the bike and said there is nothing else that can be done.

The Crankset the bike came with is the RPM CY2F.
Would upgrading the Crankset help? (I could have sworn the Vapor came with a Shimano crankset)

Johann

·
Registered
1,008 Posts
If there is no rubbing when in this gear combo under light pedalling but rubbing occurs under hard pedalling then it is due to the crank flexing too much. Cheap cranks do this, flex too much. Your bike shop is correct, a new crank will fix this. Anything Shimano Deore and up will be stiff enough so that not to flex and cause rubbing (unless you are a super clyde).

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the info Gearhead.
I guess when you go for the entry level bikes, the components may not always be the highest quality.

Time to do some price comparisons on cranksets. Any recommendations on where to shop for components?

Johann

·
MT rider
255 Posts
godaisan said:
I'm new to biking and I decided earlier this year to get a 2005 Rocky Mountain Vapor as a beginner's bike.

I noticed when the chain is on the largest chainring at the front and the smallest at the back, under heavy pedalling, the chain rubs against the front derailleur. The Local bike shop here adjusted the bike and said there is nothing else that can be done.

The Crankset the bike came with is the RPM CY2F.
Would upgrading the Crankset help? (I could have sworn the Vapor came with a Shimano crankset)

Johann