Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
noMAD man
12,220 Posts
Sounds like the old elastomer/MCU Manitous.

Master_Jako said:
do manitous forks suck/freeze in cold weather---50F degrees or less?
I'm not up on the internals of a Dorado, but I highly doubt they have elastomers or MCUs. Unless an appreciable amount of water had somehow gotten into the damping system, it's hard to figure why a Dorado would just seize up strictly because of temperature. Some of the older Manitous that had elastomers and MCUs for springs would get hard as a rock when subjected to really cold temps. I wouldn't think Manitous of the more modern era would be any more susceptible to cold temps than any other modern fork, but as I said, I'm no Dorado expert.

·
Registered
1,382 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
TNC said:
I'm not up on the internals of a Dorado, but I highly doubt they have elastomers or MCUs. Unless an appreciable amount of water had somehow gotten into the damping system, it's hard to figure why a Dorado would just seize up strictly because of temperature. Some of the older Manitous that had elastomers and MCUs for springs would get hard as a rock when subjected to really cold temps. I wouldn't think Manitous of the more modern era would be any more susceptible to cold temps than any other modern fork, but as I said, I'm no Dorado expert.
ok, thx

·
Registered
5,261 Posts
i would say if there is a problem its probably because they arent oil bath, but rather lubricated by grease. The grease probably doesnt do a good job of displacing moisture, especially if its not well lubed or dirty, and then will freeze or get sticky. Also the grease may get too viscous at such temps. I would probably look into a different lubricant when using it in really cold temps.

·
Registered
1,382 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
zedro said: