Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm really new to the sport of mountain biking (I got my bike about a week ago). I have been looking around my area (Provo, UT) at the reviews of some of the trails. There are a few beginner trails, but many of them say they are "intermediate technical" level. My question is how will I know I am ready for a more intermediate trail? And how do I go about practicing? Its winter, so many of the trails are covered in snow, but there are a few that should be good for all season riding. Just curious what everyone did when they first started out to get better at their mountain biking skills!

·
R.I.P. DogFriend
6,891 Posts
Go with other people that understand that you may have to walk some sections or take a moment to size up a section before attempting it, or watch someone else do it and see if you feel like you can make it too. Lots of people enjoy helping newer riders.

Make sure they know it may take longer than it usually does. If the people you ride with can't deal with that, find new people to ride with.

No shame in walking if you feel the need. Best to live to ride another day. Be safe and make it about fun and the rest usually takes care of itself.

·
Registered
673 Posts
Best way to practice is to hit the trails. Don't be afraid of falling, either. It's going to happen no matter what. If you see something that looks like more than you want to handle, follow Jeff's advice and don't be afraid to walk it. But at the same time, try not to get too psyched out about things, because then you'll never ride them. :)