Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Banned
7,131 Posts
Dot 5.1 is very rare, a motorcycle shop *might* have it, but even there it is very rare to see it.

Dot 4 and dot 3 are compatable with dot 5.1. You DO NOT want dot 5 though.

You usually have to order dot 5.1 from hope. Dot 4 is the best replacement, although there are very good dot 3 fluids out there that exceed the baseline dot 4 specifications.

·
Registered
619 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Jm. said:
Dot 5.1 is very rare, a motorcycle shop *might* have it, but even there it is very rare to see it.

Dot 4 and dot 3 are compatable with dot 5.1. You DO NOT want dot 5 though.

You usually have to order dot 5.1 from hope. Dot 4 is the best replacement, although there are very good dot 3 fluids out there that exceed the baseline dot 4 specifications.
are you sure???????? cuz i don't want to screw everything up...

·
Banned
7,131 Posts
oh yes, I'm sure. I've been buying dot fluid and bleeding brakes since 1999. Hayes brakes can take dot 3 or 4. Hope brakes use dot 5.1 and dot 4. Dot 3 is chemically similer to dot 4, in the sense that it won't harm the seals or anything on your bike, it simply has a lower boiling temperature so it's not quite as resistant to temperature differences, but there ARE a lot of dot 3 fluids that far exceed the baseline specifications of dot 3 fluid, so you can put dot 3 in a brake that uses dot 4 or dot 5.1 and it will be fine.

Dot 5.1 is good because it doesn't absorb much water and it can work at very high temperatures without expanding, Dot 3 and 4 are not quite as good at this, but they are still well within the "ok" range in my experience.

To be on the safe side, just get dot 4.

·
Registered
5,261 Posts
thebikedoctor33 said:
are you sure???????? cuz i don't want to screw everything up...