·
Registered
450 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
With the days getting shorter, I'm starting to think of getting a new set
of lights for night riding. I'm currently using an old Niterider 15w bar
mounted light, which I don't find is quite bright enough in technical
situations, at least for my eyes. The only other system I've used is a
Niterider Classic, which has 12-20-32w settings, which worked good for me.

So anyways, I'm thinking of spending $200-300 on a new system, possibly a
helmet mount, but there seems to be lots of choices to confuse me.
Currently, many places are selling some of the Niterider HID's (such as the
Storm) for around $270. Seems like a very good deal, but then again, I see lots of
comments about these NR HID lights on MTBR that make me think twice
(switches that work inconsitanly, heavy light for the helmet mount, etc).
For around the same money, there are some other brands I have no experience
with that are pretty highly rated, such as JET and TurboCat, but these are
not HID systems. Anyone have experience with these brands? What would you chose?

·
Do It Yourself
5,720 Posts
If you want to stay around $200, the 20W Jet Phantom is a very good light. It's about 3 times brighter than a 15W NiteRider and plenty bright for technical riding. This is all I use except in races where I use a bar light for backup. If you want to spend a bit more, the Lume seems to be really nice for a budget HID. It's about $230 with the overnight trickle charger and about $280 with the fast smart charger (highly recommended) if you use the MTBR coupon.

http://www.lumelighting.com/mtbr.asp

·
Registered
4,199 Posts
Light & Motion HID!

Check out the Light & Motion HIDs at:

www.bikelights.com