Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding my MTB to work (monday-friday) now for about 3 months. I ride a hard tail Kona with an Avatar seat which I like. My ride is about 4.5 miles one way. I'm having a problem with my quadriceps hurting all the time. They hurt as soon as I hop on the bike and begin pedaling uphill or downhill. I thought that I would just ride through the pain but it isn't going away, it is getting worse.

I'm 32 years old, 5'-8" and 225# (and dropping).

Should I look into some nutrients for muscles? What kind? I am no doctor, I don't understand my body the way I should.

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have the seat up where my leg is straight at the bottom. Any higher and I'd need to lean to reach the pedals. If I move it lower, it does feel awkward.

(Nice avatar!)

·
Registered
122 Posts
How hard are pushing when riding? If this a daily commute then try riding slower/lower gear. If you are pushing hard every day then you are over working your leggs and they will always hurt. I would suggest riding to work at a higher cadance or easier pace (both mean slower speed) and see if your leggs start to feel better. If not then stop riding for a few days to sse if that is your issue.

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I ride as hard as I can. I would like to be able to ride up steeper trails eventually. I ride 4.5 miles to work. It takes about 20 minutes to work, and 30 minutes home, there is a large hill and it is usually hotter. I drink about a quart of water on the ride home.

I was riding with a higher cadence to get used to pedaling in a circle. Now I've switched to trying to work harder. Maybe I should slow down some. That is tough to do though.

Thanks for the thoughts guys. I appreciate it.

·
Registered
23 Posts
clarkfam3 said:
your legs need to recover or they will never get better. start by alternating hard days and easy days.