Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
876 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here's the link to my screamin' deal:

http://www.speedgoat.com/product.asp?part=137806

I have been riding a Stumpy HT for two years now and feel I want to give full boing a try. I'm sure I'll have more questions, but here are a few to start:

Travel: Do most of you ML users leave the shock in the 5" position? If so, what travel fork are you using? For background, I ride with a pretty quick but non-racer group who prefer XC type rides, but we ride New England, so there are plenty of opportunities for rock gardens to play in. Southern New England (Big River in RI, Salem River State Forest in CT, Hartman Park in CT, Bluff Point is right in my backyard), so not a ton of sustained climbing, lots of rolling terrain.

I'm planning on running the new "compact mountain" crank from Shimano with a 22/36/Bash setup. I currently run a 22/32/44 with an 11-34 cassette. Will I notice a difference if I switch to 11-32 with the 22/36/Bash setup, in climbing? I'm hoping to run a shorter chain rear derailleur. Also, does anyone know if any other manufacturers offer the opportunity to run similar 2 chainring bashguard fronts in a cross country type crank? I honestly almost never find myself using my 44, except when I ride the road to Bluff Point from my front door, and I imagine that going with a 36 or 38 tooth front would be more than enough for roads, fire roads, rails/trails, etc. Pretty much only hit those to get to single track or on epics, and they tend to be a short part of the overall ride.

Like I say, I'm sure I'll have more questions, but that's it for now.

Regards,
David B.

·
Registered
844 Posts
I think you'll love the ML. Personally I'd put it in the rear suspension to 5" and never look back. IMO, the ML (even on the 5") is not that squishy bottomless soft tail you might think it is (even coming from an HT).