Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
SO, after thinking about it and thinking about it, I decided to build my pugs wheels myself. This IS my first time, BUT I am doing it through a wheel building class. I definitely wouldn't try this all on my own, and I hope that it will go fine under the instruction of a pro. My goal is to get help with the rear and then attempt to do the front at home. Hopefully when i build 'normal' wheels (like a generator hub wheel for my LHT) i will be blown away with just how easy it is compared to the pugs. my ultimate goal would be an alfine 29er pugs set on down the line.

I have researched the wheel threads here, which are great. I have the adapter and the instructions that came with the pug. I contacted the instructor and told him my story and got his approval to register. We are meeting tomorrow for measurements and spoke calc.

My rims are large marge dh, offset drilled, 36h. My rear hub is the alfine, front will be Paul Word disk/fixed.

Couple questions:

I see conflicting info on nipples. Some say 12mm brass, others say 16mm brass. Which is it?

Given that I am going with pretty wide hubs relative to the xt (alfine ctf is 31.8 left, 25.5 right) will i end up with different spoke lengths? I plan to go with black spokes, which i may have to order.

To save some bread, i am thinking of just going straight-gauge on the spokes. The lbs has a spoke cutter. Do straight gauge spokes suck??

Any other things to watch out for or relay to my instructor would be great. I will be researching and reading about other's builds up until the class. If you could point me to some online resources, that would be awesome!

thanks,
Alan :D

·
Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Oops.
I made a mistake, the alfine hub has a total flange to flange width of 57.3, which is only slightly more than than the xt ftf width of 57.1