Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
267 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I read somewhere that a protein shake in the AM will help you lose weight? Is that just because you won't be as hungry when lunch comes around?

·
Registered
180 Posts
Any reasonable food in the am (breakfast) will help you manage weight. It starts up your metabolism and reduces your body's tendency to store fat.

·
Registered
1,360 Posts
For me if I skip breakfast I develop a calorie deficit. My body reacts by slowing down trying to conserve energy. By the time I get to eat I'm starving and my metoblism doesn't increase because it's still reacting to the previous calorie deficit. I'm not worried about wieght management at 5'10" 150 pounds, I'm worried about feeling like crap. I work from 1pm until 10pm. If I skip breakfast I'll feel like crap on my am ride and I'll feel horrible by the time I get to work. I'm a chef so I can eat when I get to work, but that's not until 1pm. The only thing I buy when I go grocery shopping are eggs, milk, mixed grain hot cereals, bananas, apples, granola bars and yogurt. All things I like to eat in the morning. oh, coffee, can't forget about that. I generally go out to eat on my day off because I can't stand cooking at home. I don't have a dishwasher to wash all my pots, pans and dishes for me and my home kitchen blows compared to my work kitchen.

·
Registered
215 Posts
Short version - Protein can help stabilize your blood sugar and insulin levels. This helps maintain a steadier metabolism that tends to burn fat as fuel. This can lead to a decrease in overall appetite and more efiicient use of your body's resources.

·
Registered
283 Posts
The rather long version: