Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
299 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am new to the whole DH/FR scene, but I am definitely going to become obsessed with it. I am planning a trip to Europe and the UK for an extended stay, and I will be going to all the great spots (Leogang, Winterberg, etc etc). I am going to be staying in hostels and the like so I want to pack as light as possible. Protective gear is bulky, so I was wondering, what do you think is the bare minimum gear to have yet still be safe? Full face helmet, goggles, elbow and knee pads (with or without shin guards??), and full finger gloves? Can I forgo the body armor and/or neck brace?

Also, I've been looking at Jenson and have found some stuff. Can you guys look at the stuff and let me know if it is good quality? If some or all of these aren't good, can you recommend some for me? I am a recent college graduate, so I am also trying to get a good deal on stuff and keeping the price down. Thanks!

Knee and shin guards: http://www.jensonusa.com/store/product/PG278B11-Fox+Titan+Mtb+Knee+Guard.aspx

Elbow guards: http://www.jensonusa.com/store/product/PG278C01-Fox+Titan+Sport+Elbow+Guard.aspx

Full face helmet: http://www.jensonusa.com/store/product/HE268G01-Pro-Tec+Auger+Full+Face+Helmet.aspx

Goggles: http://www.jensonusa.com/store/product/EY284B00-Giro+Score+Mtb+Goggles.aspx

Upper body armor: http://www.jensonusa.com/store/product/PG267A13-Troy+Lee+Designs+Bp7850-Hw+Protect.aspx

·
Registered
621 Posts
I use the Rock GardN Pearl helmet it is very comfortable. I also use the Race Face knee/shin rally FR pads and they are the best I have used so far. For goggles, I use the Smith Intake series with the sensor lenses.

I tried on a Giro remedy helmet and it is also very comfortable and a reasonable price.

Just because something might fit me well, doesn't mean it will fit you the same.

·
Registered
621 Posts