Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Pros and Cons of "GPS bike computer" ? - bike computer needs advice!

2872 Views 4 Replies 4 Participants Last post by  Harold
I'm new to bike computer and using GPS handheld as a bike computer... while I know GPS can function as a map, and can trace the trail riden. I want to know also some other pros and cons of traditional bike computer vs GPS bike computer... (e.g. garmin etrex series, edge 305, 60csx)

Can those who have used both kinds of system give me some idea? Thanks a lot!
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
I use a Garmin 76CSx on my bike occasionally. With the GPS, you get more information than just top speed, current speed, average speed (you get that, too). You also get a saved course so you know your speed at a specific point on the trail. You of course will know your position on a map with the gps, too. You can also share your information with others so they can follow the same path.

A bike-specific gps like the edge has heart rate capability, too, but is less robust in mapping capabilities depending on the model.

One limitation to the GPS as a bike computer is that battery life is much lower than a standard bike computer. The devices are also bigger, depending on what you use (mine's huge). Reception can be an issue on occasion, but that's usually associated with older receivers. The newer ones are pretty good.
See less See more