Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Would any of you that have been lucky enough to ride both bikes care to offer opinions on the different ride characteristics, similarities etc... Thanks.

·
Registered
29 Posts
If you search the forum you'll find a few posts comparing the two. It depends on your riding style, preferences, etc. and you really need to test ride before dropping this kind of money on any bike. That said, I test rode both last month but not on trails where one would actually ride them (street test rides seem almost pointless) but went with a Prophet 600 because:

- Rush had a more "racer" oriented rider position (although this could be modified with stem swaps) and is certainly aimed more towards the XC side of riding. I felt more comfortable with the higher-BB on the Prophet so I don't bash my pedals (hey, I'm a newbie to the moutain bike side of things) but maybe that wouldn't be much of an issue for more experienced riders. That said, the Prophet has taken some getting used to after riding low-BB road bikes. It's becoming more comfortable with each ride...

- In the future I want the option of possibly doing some freeride dirt jumps and moderate drops. I felt more comfortable with the slightly beefier frame on the prophet long-term as my skills grow.

- I don't care about riding fast uphill (not racing or riding with other fast riders), and won't be riding on the road at all with this bike (I've got other bikes for that). If the Prophet takes more effort to go up the mountain I just get a slightly better workout, which based on a how little time I actually get to ride (with a wife+2 kids at home) is probably a plus!

- The prophet is awesome blasting downhill on rough trails and very stable (I haven't even tried the FR setting yet). I don't know whether it would be the same on the Rush or not, but probably pretty close since there's really not THAT much different between the travel.