Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have my heart set on a Prophet - I have been test riding for a while, and it is by far the most fun I have had on a bike. I was going to get the 600 and have my LBS do some upgrades: dual control levers and a rapid rise rear derallieur. The guy I am talking to suggested yesterday that I just go up to the 800 which would give me the upgrades I had in mind with a better fork and hydralic brakes for about $250 more than I would have paid if I just did the upgrades to the 600.

I have never used hydralic brakes before and am a bit leary of anything that is "high maintanence" but I don't like how much bob I get out of the fork when I am going uphill out of the saddle, and the new fork might ameleorate that somewhat. I am a student so the 600 price point is well outside of my budget - but given that I am going to spend this much anyways, I figure I may as well get it right.

A bit more information: I weigh about 190, and I am mostly going to be riding cross country with a bit of freeriding.

What are people opinions? Are the hydralic brakes and the 800 fork worth it?

Thanks,
Erik

·
Registered
215 Posts
I can't speak for the Shimano hydraulics but I've been using Magura Martas for a couple of years now. The Martas are fine but I'm actually in the proces of switching over to the Avid BB7s. Why? Well the Martas have always been fiddly for me and adjusting them is a real pain in the ass. I always find myself screwing with them and wish they had the micro-adjustable pads like the BB7s. Also, with the mechs, I wont have to worry about bubbles forming in the lines, bleeding, leaks, blah blah blah. A friend of mine who is a regular racer has been using the Avids for 1.5 years now and swears by them - that's a good enough endorsement for me. As for the shock upgrade, you'll have to rely on other's input in that area.

·
cannondale rider
162 Posts