Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am new to mountain biking. I am going to buy a 2006 GT Aggressor, becuase its a great price and a pretty good bike. I have to buy the bike over the phone because i dont live near any dealers. What size should i get. I am 5'11" 190 lbs. Normal athletic build. Also my wife is going to get the same bike but the female version she is 5'2" 125 lbs. What size should she get? The sizes are like extra small small medium large extra large

·
Registered
4,040 Posts
Height and weight are only a small part of the equation. Since you're new to MTBing you should get all your particular measurements to a dealer - online seems to be your only option - who can guide you.

There is zero consistentcy in the sizing of S/M/L/XL from mfr to mfr and often even from frame to frame with the same mfr.

Definitely worth the effort on the front end versus dropping coin on bikes that may fit poorly and be no fun to ride.

·
Rollin' a fatty
5,863 Posts
Go to wrenchscience.com and do their fit guide, that should give you a good idea on your "correct" size.

I would say that your size would be L and your wife S but that's just a guess based on your info.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
the website helped alot thank you
but they gave measurements for:
handelbar width
overall reach
frame size
saddle height

but on the gt website they give specs for
Chainstay Length
Stand Over
BB Height
Top Tube Length
so what does all that mean and what can i do with the measurements i got

·
No good in rock gardens..
4,439 Posts
I am 5' 7" and have a medium 2005 Avalanche. I have about 8 inches of seatpost sticking out. One of my buddies had a medium Avalanche as well, he's about 5' 10", his seatpost was out about ten inches - near maximum.

If I were you I'd be looking at a large for yourself, and a small for your wife.