Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My bike broke the day before a 3 day ride I had been planning for months with my friends. The bike shop said the part was special order and the bike was not rideable. I called my friend and asked to borrow one of his old bikes. They kept thanking me for being calm about the whole thing. Which caught me as odd as the breakdown was partially my fault.

In comes roadie with his lower end road bike demanding to see the service manager. Apparently he is very upset over how his bike is shifting and how it doesn't shift right under load. They tell him his technique is the problem and not the shifter and he has a meltdown that would have impressed mel gipson.

Apparently this is a bit over the top. At the same time mine was much less than what was expected. So how is the meltdown done properly? I don't want people to think I am not a real cyclist or a total newb or something.

·
Stiff yet compliant
1,895 Posts
Convince yourself of these three things and it will come naturally.

#1. The sun rises and sets in my spandex.
#2. I race. This makes me special.
#3. People that work at bike shops are beneath me, even though I have to go to them for simple things like shifting adjustments.

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Moustache rider said:
Convince yourself of these three things and it will come naturally.

#1. The sun rises and sets in my spandex.
#2. I race. This makes me special.
#3. People that work at bike shops are beneath me, even though I have to go to them for simple things like shifting adjustments.