Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
312 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just installing these brakes on my bike, and they're feeling spongy. The lever also has to move a lot before the pads engage the rotors. I've bled the rear brake because it was the worst, with maybe negligible improvements. I've pushed about 20 ml of fluid twice through the rear brake (how much is in there anyway?) and only saw bubbles when first starting out. A ton of fluid came out of the caliper when I removed the bleed screw from it as well. The second time I pushed more fluid in there were maybe very tiny bubbles in the syringe.

I've bled SRAM brakes before but this is my first time with mineral oil. SRAM has about 30 more steps but the syringes are much higher quality and the process of pulling on it to create a vacuum and get more air out gives me more confidence in being successful.

I'm using a single syringe and a screw in cup on the lever with these TRP brakes. I have pumped the lever multiple times and held the lever down for 15 mins or so multiple times while the bleed port on the lever was open with the cup containing fluid.

What am I doing wrong?

·
Registered
312 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
yes I did.

I just tried the trick of holding down the brake lever with mineral oil in the cup overnight. At first it felt better, but literally 10 minutes after closing the bleed port it's crap again.

·
Registered
312 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Your description makes it sound like the biggest problem is lever free stroke before the pads make contact. Is that the case, or once they make contact is the lever still mushy?
A little bit of both, but primarily the free stroke.

Oh, and through out this entire overnight process, I haven't seen any air bubbles come up. Only time I've seen air bubbles is the first time I pushed oil from the caliper.

·
Registered
24,083 Posts