Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been trying to convert my '91 Stumpjumper to a SS for winter riding and commuting. I can't seem to get the chain to run smoothly. I bought a chain tensioner and have it lined up as horizontally as possible. I've shortened the chain, but I'm not too sure about the correct length.

I'm a pretty lame mechanic, so it could be something very basic.

Thanks for the help.

I've tried to upload a picture - not sure if it'll work, though

Attachments

·
Premium Member
48,238 Posts
Of course that is going to skip. Your chain is WAY too long. Your tensioner is vertical when it should be nearly horizontal.

·
Registered
230 Posts
shiggy©®™ said:
Of course that is going to skip. Your chain is WAY too long. Your tensioner is vertical when it should be nearly horizontal.
what do you do with all of your old tires, do they need a good home ? i'll pay for shipping thx

·
Cracker-magnon
1,153 Posts
Yup, what everyone else said. Take some links out and put in the push up spring. Get more chain wrap, go for a ride, drink a beer.... simple

·
bon vivant
156 Posts
Yep, your chain needs to wrap around as much of the rear cog as you can make it. Do what the voices are telling you.

I

·
Registered
3,931 Posts
been there, done that

You don't need much more wrap-around. Shorten the chain but try to use the tensioner in a pull down configuration. The more you push up the closer the pulley gets to the cog and alignment becomes critical. Secondly, when you hit drops the pulley falls, loosening the chain.

·
Registered
847 Posts
Yep, chain is way too long

Set it up with as little chain as possible and then add the tensioner.

What kind of dropouts are on that frame?
Look like vertical but I'm wondering if they might be semi-horizontal. If they are, you should be able to set it up without the tensioner.

·
Candlestick Maker
3,280 Posts
DiRt DeViL said: