Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Always pushing harder!!!
1,156 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Out of the blue and completely unplanned, I decided to do a 7 day stage race two months away. Looking at my training plan, I have a target XC race in April with lots of volume around it; coming in just less compared to going out.

Analyzing my training so far, I've only decreased my weekly volume since racing season began from 15-17 hrs per week to 12-14 per week average leading into the thick of my schedule, but intensity has picked up also working more on LT and VO2Max. XCO races have been and will be every other week until the aforementioned stage race.

Stages time ranges from 2 to 4 hours daily, with an average of 3 hrs for a mid pack finisher in my class.

Given the short time frame to make any changes to my training plan, what changes, suggestions, or tips should I take into consideration for this? I have never done a stage race before, so any tips would be gladly appreciated.

·
Registered
367 Posts
i am seriously thinking about signing up in the next day or so for that race. what did you do for accommodations this late? PM me if you want

·
LW Coaching
737 Posts
Given the short time frame to make any changes to my training plan, what changes, suggestions, or tips should I take into consideration for this? I have never done a stage race before, so any tips would be gladly appreciated.
Sounds like you already have a great training plan and lots of fitness in the bank. You only need a few tweaks to be stage race ready.

Take your current training plan and change the structure of your weekly format by blocking together your 2 most intense rides of the week on back-2-back days. This will adapt you for the day to day stage race format. Start doing this with two sessions. In your 2 last key training weeks before tapering into the stage race block your three most intense sessions. Then rest, taper and race.