Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
421 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a teacher in Georgia and have the go ahead with the administration to start a mountain bike club/team for next fall. My understanding is that there can be no practices 'til August 1st. I am concerned about the overall fitness level of riders and am wondering if some would share a pre-season work out program for students. thanks- brianW

·
It's about showing up.
12,738 Posts
Thanks for making this happen in your school.

Practices are limited for insurance window reasons. More importantly the limits are encouraged out of a recognition for issues concerning the well-understood impact of use/overuse of the growing muscles. In the 13-16 y/o age range many of these tissues are in very sensitive developmental stages. Too much repetitive usage over too long a period at that age and you can take young riders out for the season.

It is inviting, and very common, for new enthusiastic adult leadership to want to really get things going. Experienced coaches see a longer term and more gradual approach. Some leaders, though, just don't seem to want to listen out of concern for victory. There is far more to this whole thing than that.

·
It's about showing up.
12,738 Posts
There is nothing unique about mountain biking in terms of "overuse of growing muscles" let alone "repetitive usage over too long a period."

Year round athletes in football, baseball, basketball, vollyball, water polo, track, XC, etc. as well as year round multi-sport athletes handle the rigors of their respective sports just fine.

Why is mountain biking, especially at the NICA level, so much more "dangerous" as you seem to infer?

Regardless, you've taken the discussion out into the weeds since the OP's racers are in no "danger" given the limited runway they have before their season starts.
I'm not inferring anything; I am telling you.