Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK. So I have read, and read, and read so much on here since I recently joined as a complete newbie to the sport, that I'm not getting any work done at work! Well... not that I have to do any work anyway, sitting behind a desk...
Anyway, I have been riding a complete Walmart POS that was given to me for a little while, and getting frustrated with the mechanics--but at the same time have realized I have rediscovered a sport/recreation that I have long since lost. I rode DAILY when I was a teenager (14-17), then moved on to motorcycles and cars. Back in the day, I rode out of necessity (transportation)--today I ride out of passion! But the wife is concerned that this may be a short-lived interest and doesn't want me to spend too much money. I have to be realistic. I DO have too many hobbies... It's nothing for me to spend $1300 on a new compound bow, rifle... shoot, I have $1200 worth of clothing on when I go hunting in a cold climate... That's not counting the rifle and scope. OK, y'all get the picture...
So I have scoured craiglist and eBay for about a week. Nothing too great, or no response from possibilities. I know a lot of folks on here aren't big fans of BD, but if I said I have $550 dollars to spend on a less-than-entry-level bike, what should I do? After all of the research, I found what I think is the best bang for my buck. I want to be able to ride on-road and lite off-road until I'm ready for what you big boys do. I have settled on this:
Save up to 60% off new 29er Mountain Bikes - MTB - Motobecane Fantom 29 Expert
Remember I'm a newbie just looking to get started. I don't know squat about weight and I don't need rear suspension (not yet!). I just want a good starter bike that has a decent shifter/derailleurs, hydraulic disc brakes, 27-speed, aluminum frame, and 29-incher.