Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Big ring = No chainsuck
446 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am 17 (almost 18) and race as an expert. Generaly, I can easily hang with the fastest guys in my area on the road (including Wes D. for those of you who read the NC forum), and can climb very well for my 170 pounds. I have been racing for the past 2 years.
My question is, how much power (and speed in general) can I expect to gain as I get older? Can I expect a huge jump in the near future (I would like to move up to Semi-Pro when I turn 19) or will improvement come more slowly?

Thanks for your thoughts.

·
MBAA!
294 Posts
nc-rider said:
I am 17 (almost 18) and race as an expert. Generaly, I can easily hang with the fastest guys in my area on the road (including Wes D. for those of you who read the NC forum), and can climb very well for my 170 pounds. I have been racing for the past 2 years.
My question is, how much power (and speed in general) can I expect to gain as I get older? Can I expect a huge jump in the near future (I would like to move up to Semi-Pro when I turn 19) or will improvement come more slowly?

You are at the peak of your physical capabilities around 21-23. Then it decreases, and after 40 it decreases almost exponentially for most people. Cyclists can be different though.

You can easily make Semi-Pro by 19, Pro if your committed enough in your 20s. Do NC races do U23 or U18 or what?

·
Registered
163 Posts
en are es said:
You are at the peak of your physical capabilities around 21-23.
Thankfully for most of us, that isn't true. There's no reason that you can't continue to progress until you are in your 30s. There are quite a few examples on the road of riders who have their best years after 30. For the most part, 23 is still considered very young for a cyclist, and you can definitely get much faster after that.