Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8,564 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a new RS Revelation that I want to powder coat along with an On-One Inbred frame for my GF. I was wondering if there is anything I need to do besides removing the lowers, and draining the oil. Will the bushings be ok during the baking?

·
Registered
8,564 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm pretty sure it has been done, but I'll check before I take em apart.

·
Banned
8,202 Posts
I know of at least one person who had it done. They were Zoke's. The outcome was not pretty.

·
Appalachian Singletrack'n
1,443 Posts
I'm no magnesium expert but, I know when Spectum Powdercoating does a frame and fork they powdercoat the frame but wet paint the fork.

·
Outcast
8,589 Posts
I had mine wet-painted; either wet or powdercoat, you have to remove the fork seals. Whoever PC's your fork needs to mask it so that no pc gets on the bushings,

·
Outcast
8,589 Posts
Endomaniac said:
I'm no magnesium expert but, I know when Spectum Powdercoating does a frame and fork they powdercoat the frame but wet paint the fork.
I didn't know that; if anyone does, it's Spectrum.
Personally, I think a matching frame and fork lokks stunning:

·
Bite Me.
4,531 Posts
I don't know Rene - that matching fork and frame kit just looks a little too well thought out. It's kind of scary. For some reason I keep thinking about a teal blue tuxedo on prom night 1977.....

·
Outcast
8,589 Posts
cutthroat said:
I don't know Rene - that matching fork and frame kit just looks a little too well thought out. It's kind of scary. For some reason I keep thinking about a teal blue tuxedo on prom night 1977.....
Oh man, you are so close it's scary. It was a baby blue pasley patterned tuxedo, prom night, 1975. STOP STALKING ME!!!! :D