Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 446 Posts

·
mtbr "member"
719 Posts
Nice Valiant, I have a Sommet

I have a 2002 sommet. Totally tore it down when I bought it and built it up with my own bits. I'll get a pic up as soon as I can.

I seem to have a thing for "defunct" bike. I own 2 Schwinns, a GT and a Mongoose Pro.

REEK

·
Registered
24 Posts
mongoose pathfinder...dont know how good it is...somebody help

i have a mongoose pathfinder, supposed to retail about 600 bucks. i hope its at least middle of the line. if anyone knows how old it is let me know. i am fairly new to the sport, since only mid december and have only gone a few rides. i like to xc and ive tried a little dh, but i took a major fall and would like to find some people to ride with. so i can learn a little more. looking for friends how can help me with techniques and lingo, and if i can find some people to ride with that would be awsome. i know its not really biking season but i love the sport and will continue to ride. thanks
i know the chain has some rust, i went on a nice ride a few days ago and im going to clean it tonight

Attachments

·
mtbr "member"
719 Posts
Here's my Mongoose Pro Sommet....

It's my winter/beater bike. A bit dirty from my ride today. It started out as a frame that got a bunch of used "hand-me-down" parts. But I really like riding it so I always have an excuse to buy new parts for my other bikes so a "not-so-used" part can be passed down to this frame. I actually find myself riding this bike even in the summer.

Now it's got Hayes hydros 8" in front, 6 " in back, X-7/Sram 9.0 drive train, the last version of the XT 8 speed cranks, FSA Extreme headset, White Brothers AT-3 coil 90 mm fork, Onza bar ends, DT/Hugi front wheel and a Bontrager rear wheel with a SRAM cassette, Time ATAC pedals, XTR front derailler, and Fox AVA float rear shock.