Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all.. I am looking for some advice. I am very new to mountain biking in general as I started riding a bike this spring after quitting smoking for 15 years. After getting bored with the local bike path where I live (Amsterdam, NY area) I have researched and found all this kick a$$ mountain biking stuff I didn't know existed, singletrack and etc. looks awesome and definitely something I want to get into. I have been riding about 6-10 miles 2-3 times a week since March on local bike path. I can not find any local singletrack type trails. I have asked the local bike shop in Johnstown and they don’t even know of anything local. I am starting to realize I need to travel about an hour to
get to anything I think I might be looking for. But info on trails is sort of hard to come by. From what I have found so far, it seems my choices are as follows: Grafton/Pittstown, Skidmore, or trails off of Town of Colonie bike path. That last choice sounds a little scary as I have read reviews of gun toting pricks chasing riders. Any way, I am no slouch and wood like to get into it a little harder, I just don’t know where to start. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
I’d be willing to meet with someone to check out some trail if anyone wouldn’t mind.

Thanks again

Randy

·
Registered
263 Posts
I'm from Schenectady (actually moving to Wilton this weekend though) and theres lots of good places to ride in this area. Pittstown/Grafton would be quite a hike for you, I highly reccomend the trails off the bike path. Theres actually 3 different areas there, Lock 7 (Niskayuna), The Pitts (Colonie) and the colonie town park. I ride all three regularly and haven't had a problem in almost 3 years now.