Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
GSD Protection
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a Military vet, just got out of the service and got a North Face yavapai hardtail and I already want more. I'm looking at some used fs all mountain bikes online and would like your help as to which way to go. I'm willing to spend up to $1000.

Here are the 2 I'm looking at on craigslist

My question, I live in ft Collins and I'm wanting a good fs all mountain rig. Which would best suit me?

Diamondback Mission 1 Mountain Bike w/ Full Suspension

Gary Fisher Cake 2 Mountain Bike - Medium - Great Condition

Thanks in advance guys.

·
Registered
1,844 Posts
What type of terrain do you expect you'll be riding? That might dictate what bike you'll like the most. I would, just given the two bikes, go after the Diamondback before the GF. The Cake is pretty darn old. Gary Fisher also kinda fell off as Trek bought and began killing off the brand.

It's good that you're looking used, and if you can, try to test ride the bikes and look for problems. A few minutes of inspecting things like welds, chainring teeth, etc can give you a good idea if the bike has been mistreated or not.

One more thing, it is usually pretty hard to beat the brand Giant in terms of value. They are fantastic bikes, fully as good as all the other big-name brands, yet they often cost less. Giant actually makes a lot of the other companies' bikes in their factory. I had a 2010 Giant Reign 1 that I loved. Incredibly good bike, both climbing and descending. When I sold it, I had put over a grand more into it, and it sold for $1000. I'd keep searching, and you'll find the perfect bike for you.

·
Perpetual n00b
1,785 Posts
The mission for sure. Knuckle box suspension is great. That bike is actually worth upgrading in the future.

·
GSD Protection
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·