Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
344 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,

A little history on this bike:

Years ago I traded a Trek Singletrack 930 for this Schwinn (I'm thinking it was mid-90's). I sold the Schwinn to my brother & he stripped it w/ intentions on painting it. That never happened (the paint part that is) & it sat in his basement as a frame/fork for probably the last 5~6 years.

I just started riding again this year (Haro FS) but wanted to rebuild this old hardtail so I got it & all the parts back.

What I do know about the bike:
Serial number is on the headtube: 0F03425
Used to have a 'Team Issue' sticker on it
1" threaded steerer
Magura HS22 Hydraulic rim brakes
XT thumb shifters
cables on the top tube
Deore DX rear Der/LX front
Deore DX hubs, Singletrack rims, Panaracer Smoke XC tires

Here's the pics:

I'm thinking I may make this into a SS project. I have a brand new XT crankset from 2001. Also have brand newXT Rapidfire SL shifters from 01. My brother bought these to use on the bike but never did. :D

What I'd like to know:
Model & year?
Could it take a small suspension fork? IIRC the previous owner at one time had an AMP Research fork on it
Any other pertinent or useful info?

·
Registered
344 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
cegrover said:
Could be a 1990 KOM S-7 M.O.S. according to this link:

http://www.firstflightbikes.com/schwinn_specs.htm

Note the mostly DX components and the red/black paint.

If SS, why would you need shifters? :)
Thx for the link! It seems that it very well could be that model from the specs listed.

Yep, not gonna need the shifters, was just a cool find in my brothers basement. :)

Hmmm...now it just needs some paint. Anybody have any ideas?

·
Registered
1,688 Posts