Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
About Me: Living and riding Missouri grants me mixed bag of terrain ranging from flowy hardpack, baby head laced flint rock single track, and full on technical rock ledge goodness. We have climbs, but few more than 200 foot of elevation gain. I've been riding for 20+ years, racing for the last 10. I was looking for a do it all bike, that blurs the lines between racer, and all day trail killer. My focus has moved toward endurance races over the past few years, and last year did some 50-100 mile, and 6 and 12 hour races in MO, AR, and CO. But enough about me what about the bike.

Bike setup: My race team is sponsored by SRAM, in as such, I have a fair bit of the Big S stuff installed. XO drivetrain (XT front no choice there), Avid Ultimate Carbon brakes, RS Sid Race fork, etc. I did opt for the FSA 2x9 though instead of the Truvative cranks. Then caped it off with Mavic SLR's and Tompson seat post and stem. Nothing heavy, nothing extra light. Think 4-5 year durability here. Entire package for a large frame is a real world 24.8 pounds with pedals. Personally, I'd rather have a reliable setup, with a frame I don't have to worry about pushing to the limits, than to save 2 pounds.

Riding: The magazine reviews are pretty accurate. The DW-Link if set up with 30% sag needs no Pro-Pedal, unless your flailing away with a horrible choppy form on a steep climb. You will notice a slight bit of bob on all out sprints, but not if seated. It will move out from a dead stop quickly, but not carbon hardtail quick. It really shines once you are up to speed though. The DW-Link smooth's out the trail chatter and with 28 psi in the tires makes the bike feel like its floating along.

The bike is very solid and quiet. The rear end is very stiff and fills you with confidence on hairy downhills. It just oooozzzzes quality when in the drivers seat.