Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I have the new Pivot 429 (2021 year) that comes with 29" wheels. I am thinking of changing to 27.5 wheels. I am a beginner and coming from a 27.5+ hardtail, I am having difficulty adjusting to the 29" size wheels. Has anyone done this? How does the ride feel? Do you recommend doing this? I spoke to my LBS and he told me just to buy a new bike that is made for 27.5 wheels. He think the Pivot 429 is designed mainly for 29" wheels.

Thank you in advance.

·
Registered
1 Posts
I agree the fact if you want stick with a 27.5, take a bike made for those tire size!

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
139 Posts
How long have you had the bike? It took me a while to adjust to 29" wheels but now it feels normal. Maybe give yourself some time to adjust to the new bike. You already have the bike so you have nothing to lose. If, at the end, it's not for you then I would get a different bike that's specifically for 27.5" wheels. The Mach 5.5 is a really fun bike.

·
Registered
1,319 Posts
Is it a longer bike? If youre coming off an older bike the geometry will be quite different too. I'd leave it 29. I have both 29 and 27.5 and my 29r is more agile.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I had the Trail 429 for 4 months. I am getting better at riding it now than before. However, every time I took the hardtail out ( Santa Cruz Chameleon 27.5+), I wished the trail 429 ride would feel the the same. The full suspension is nice on my body and knees but it is not as agile as my old Chameleon.

However, the purpose of my original post was not really about me. I just want to know if anyone who own the newest trail 429 with different wheel setup (27.5 and/or mullet) can share their experience. After all, the Pivot 429 bike was advertised to be able to handle 27.5+ wheels.

·
Registered
1 Posts