Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sadly, as a poor college student, I can only afford one bike. I like the longer travel of the pitch, as you can take it more places. I want to do a few XC races on it, I am not terribly fast, but enjoy being competitive. So my question to all of the pitch riders out there, do you race XC on it? Is it too much of a bike for XC in your opinion? Also, I looked through the threads and the search button, but how much does a stock pitch weigh (size medium preferred) Thanks once again for the help.

And if it matters I will be racing the front range of the Rockies, as I am a student at Colorado State University, so Fort Collins and Colorado Springs are my two hometowns.

·
Registered
1,380 Posts
Of course you can, just train as much as you can on the flats and ascents, as that is where the light bike dudes will pass you

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
This might be a dumb question, but looking at the specs of the rear shock, i couldn't figure something out. Is there a lockout or a "pro pedal" type of position, or is it open all the time. I did see the rebound adjustment, but nothing else. Thank you once again.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
I am mainly looking at Specialized because CSU's team is sponsored by them, so we have some help for pricing. I am taking other bikes into consideration, but having a good discount makes their bikes extremely competitive for pricing. I am also taking suggestions of what to look at. It will be my only mountain bike, so it will be raced a fair amount, but I do enjoy technical routes, and small drops.

Thanks for all the help.

·
cougarbait
1,783 Posts
small drops? maybe a stumpy fsr will do it for you

120mm rear travel, 140mm fork. It's probably a lot more suitable for racing than the pitch

maybe a FSRxc if you're on a budget

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #9