Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Waiting to exhale.
1,030 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have had it! I have been going through 4 tubes a month because of pinch flats and thorns. I have tried DH tubes and Slime. It is not working. Right now I have some 717 rims and run 2.35 nevegals. I am not sure If I should buy some 819 ust rims and buy a ust tire set and throw some stans in there or just try the stans no tubes on my 717's? What about using the 819's with non ust tires and stans?

PLEASE!! anyone with some experience with these methods please help! thanks

·
Young, Shawn Young
3,165 Posts
Im sure some may disagree but I think ust is the bomb. Ive been running tubeless on the 819s for 8 months now. I put the stans in every few months as it dries up, evaporates, plugs holes. I ride in Vegas where there are thorns, cactus, and sharp rocks galore. I have yet to have a flat other than one time my tire simply ran out of goo. In fact, the tires Im running right now have been thrashed so much that every morning after a ride there are numerous(10-15) spots on each tire where the stans leaked out and plugged the holes:)

Thats my story,

Shawm

·
NoTubes.com
600 Posts
SMOKEY said:
I have had it! I have been going through 4 tubes a month because of pinch flats and thorns. I have tried DH tubes and Slime. It is not working. Right now I have some 717 rims and run 2.35 nevegals. I am not sure If I should buy some 819 ust rims and buy a ust tire set and throw some stans in there or just try the stans no tubes on my 717's? What about using the 819's with non ust tires and stans?

PLEASE!! anyone with some experience with these methods please help! thanks