Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all

I've been riding an 07 Stump FSR comp for the last 3 years (the army green one), and in October 09 I managed to qualify on it for the 24 solo worlds in 2010. I've promised myself i'll aquire a lighter rig for the event, but the reality is i'll have trouble funding something high end (I'd love a 29er epic marathon). I'm wondering whether it would be worth spending 1/2 as much pimping my current platform, which fits like a glove. Currently, the stump (Medium, minus bottles and saddlebag) weighs in at just over 13 kg (= 29 lbs), with mavic 819 tubeless disc wheels (heavy but bombproof), and everything else stock as supplied (low end truvativ cranks, juicy 3 brakes etc).

My questions: given that the frame is limiting, what complete bike weights have others been able to achieve with this frameset?, and which bits should be my priority areas (i'm guessing wheels and cranks are top)? Ideally i'd like to knock it down to the 11.5 kg range (~25 lbs) but i just don't know if i'm being realistic.

Cheers

Dave

·
Registered
1,380 Posts
Lighter Wheels, maybe Stan's 355s with double butted spokes and American Cycle hubs will knock a 1 lb off
replace rear cassette with XT or XTR with new chain
Light ghetto tubeless tires
Should get you down to 26lbs for less than $1000

·
Registered
626 Posts
langles said:
Hi all