Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
bike rider
5,569 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've seen a few requests for suggestions of the "lightest, best, non-carbon" cranks so some people are still suspicious of carbon in this application. However, I've never seen a broken one so if you have please share.

I'm not talking about cracked tabs on the spiders of a batch of RaceFaces. That doesn't even end a ride. I want to see a broken carbon crank arm to justify the carbon scardy cats.

P.S. I've been pounding Kforce Lights on my AM bike for 2 years now. One arm does have a big scratch from a rock.

·
Banned
5,770 Posts
Lelandjt said:
I've seen a few requests for suggestions of the "lightest, best, non-carbon" cranks so some people are still suspicious of carbon in this application. However, I've never seen a broken one so if you have please share.

I'm not talking about cracked tabs on the spiders of a batch of RaceFaces. That doesn't even end a ride. I want to see a broken carbon crank arm to justify the carbon scardy cats.

P.S. I've been pounding Kforce Lights on my AM bike for 2 years now. One arm does have a big scratch from a rock.
I can't remember to ever have seen such a cracked carbon arm.However the spider tabs seem to be a problem.

·
Registered
3,481 Posts
I have Next's on my bike.It is very rocky here. Even with the rubber boots on the ends...the ends of the cranks are pretty beat up from rock hits. I do keep an eye on them...the fail will probably be the alum thread insert coming loose.

·
Subject to Whimsy
420 Posts
the mayor said:
I have Next's on my bike.It is very rocky here. Even with the rubber boots on the ends...the ends of the cranks are pretty beat up from rock hits. I do keep an eye on them...the fail will probably be the alum thread insert coming loose.
The pedal inserts loosening on the Next cranks was a known problem on at least the '08 series. This happened to me within about 8-9 months of purchasing them in August '08.