Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
218 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I noticed there are quite a few people here that enjoy photography. My wife and I do as well. She does not bike though, and I would love to get some pictures of the great scenery I get to see while biking. My question though is how do you carry a nice camera when biking? I did a couple times before I started riding harder trails and with clipless pedals. I am afraid of falling a crushing our nice camera. Can I get a hard protective case to put it in?

·
Registered
167 Posts
you have two choices (maybe more but that's all I can think of at the moment) - 1) take a higher end point and shoot. I've tried it and it's ok but if you're used to an SLR then the only other viable option is 2) carry an SLR - check out LowePro - they have some camera with lens holsters. I haven't tried it yet but it's next on the list - I'm going to try a 5d mkII with a 24-70mm and a 100 mm Macro in the camel back.

·
Registered
412 Posts
zenmster said:
you have two choices (maybe more but that's all I can think of at the moment) - 1) take a higher end point and shoot. I've tried it and it's ok but if you're used to an SLR then the only other viable option is 2) carry an SLR - check out LowePro - they have some camera with lens holsters. I haven't tried it yet but it's next on the list - I'm going to try a 5d mkII with a 24-70mm and a 100 mm Macro in the camel back.
I didn't want to try to lug our huge DSLR camera around so we bought a nice point and shoot camera. We bought the Canon G11 and it is really nice for a point and shoot. You can still shoot in RAW and adjust shutter speeds and tons more (that are above my photography skills....) I would say the only thing you really lose is being able to zoom very much. You can still zoom with the G11 just not as much. Overall, I would say its a great mountain biking camera.

·
Registered
167 Posts