Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The performance enhancing drug topic got me thinking. I am pretty new to MTB racing and was wondering what type of suppliments and OTC help do you guys take? Training, raceday, post training and racing? Nothing illegal or anything.

I will ussually drink a Dr. Pepper before a hard training effort. I also take a multi-vitamin, some creatine, try to eat alot of lean meat, I also try to carb load the night before a race, pancakes, pasta, something. I also regulalry take Asprine or some other OTC pain med for training soreness.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Creatine will make you fat, slow, and retain water. Train your ass off, take a rest day and repeat. Eat clean, sleep as much as possible, and drink a big glass of chocolate milk after your long or hard workouts.

·
Registered
1,094 Posts
Train hard, recover harder, eat a balanced diet ... and don't fall for all this supplement marketing. Save this money and spend it on a lighter wheel set, this is probably more effective.

·
Registered
260 Posts
Train smart, rest hard, and eat a well balanced diet. I'm big on lots of fish, lean meat, skinless chicken, eggs, oatmeal, fruit, and lots of veggies.

I supplement with these:
1. FRS
2. Multi vitamin
3. Vitamin D

Most of my supplements are meant to boost my immune system and help keep me healthy so i can continue training.

·
Registered
173 Posts
While I am not a great athlete, I found using Beta Alanine very useful while doing endurance events last year. It definitely helped keep the lactic acid at bay for longer.

·
Loving Life
354 Posts
dpatterson100 said:
Creatine will make you fat, slow, and retain water. Train your ass off, take a rest day and repeat. Eat clean, sleep as much as possible, and drink a big glass of chocolate milk after your long or hard workouts.