Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Banned
215 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok awkward question and thread.

I do a lot of road riding and I notice some people will shout things, beep or whistle as they fly by me in a car. I even got "cat calls" but to me they seem sarcastic as in "keep dreaming, buddy"

I find it annoying to have people doing this while I ride a highway.

Do you all get whistles, get beeped or have people shout things from cars as you ride?

I find it annoying.....just let me ride in peace.

·
Registered
20 Posts
I am new to riding bikes but when I had a little motor scooter I had that happen, even when minding my own business not holding traffic up or anything. And I live in a supposedly bike friendly city. I started carrying ball bearings and nuts/bolts in my pocket after having stuff thrown at me. Usually that type of stuff happens when you hold up traffic or ride outside the bike lanes. Just try to make an effort to not hold up traffic and obey signs and for the most part you should be good, but there are always those a**'s.

·
Registered
203 Posts
Just wait til they start playing chicken as a "joke."
One of the many reasons I'm more scared of injuries from commuting than mtbing.

·
Registered
473 Posts
I'm not sure that throwing projectiles that can cause extensive monetary damage and bodily harm to others is the answer, but to each his own, we all learn our own way. Spend that first night in a jail cell and you might approach it differently next time!

·
Registered
331 Posts
At least they are aware of you and aren't going to run into you.
This!

But to answer your question, no. I've been beeped at a couple times but that's about it.

·
Registered
66 Posts
I used to get beeped at a lot, but it stopped when I realised my shorts were a bit too loose and I was showing my asscrack to everyone! :eekster: