Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
The Mud Stud
1,435 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, here I am, 2 weeks before a race, and I dont know what the hell pedals to use. I urgently need youre help. I ride toe clip pedals{dont know how I do it} because I currently cant affored clipless{student, blabla, you know the deal}. Now, I have been riding them for about 2 years and I still find them a pain in the @$$ to clip into, especially on the uphills, which would probably be my forte in a race. Now, I have tried platforms, but only the ones without the pins{you know, the skinny xc type}. Almost 3 weeks ago I got hung up and hit my knee on one side, I still have the mark. I want to get platforms, but I have no Idea what to use to protect my knees{I need something cheap and easy to get}. I will get clipless, but I cant yet, so forget that. I have been riding 5 years and ride xc trail. If I cant use platforms then what do I do for the clips. HELP!:madman:

·
crashes in parkinglot
1,257 Posts
Fox used to make a pretty cheap shin/knee protector that a MX place near my place would sell. It was very basic but lite and would keep the pins from giving shin burgers. I'd head to a MX store see what they have for cheap. It had two velcro/elastic straps for going around your lower leg (calf and just above the anckle) the knee protector was loose so it would flop around (i ended up just cutting it off) as you are supposed to wear those gaurds under some MX pants.

I'm surprised you can't find some cheap clipless pedals though. Have you looked on craigs list, mtbr and ebay? an older Ritchey (basically the same design as a shimano clipless) are pretty cheap maybe. You might even be able to stop in at your LBS and see if the have some pedals the people didn't want on their bike that came OEM, like a trade out bin or some such thing.

·
EDR
10,037 Posts
Dirt Bringer said: