Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
Pivot Firebird
470 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding clipless (Shimano M540) for about 2 months now. Maybe 45 miles a week?

Recently, I noticed a tremendous amount of play in one of the pedals. I took it apart, re-packed, etc and found the play was still there.

How long do pedals last in riding conditions like AZ?

I ride 4 times a week - mainly National. Nothing extreme. 3 foot drops max.

Is Southwest riding THAT hard on clipless pedals and should I expect to replace them this often with my riding style? Surely, pedals should last longer. Thanks

·
Meatpuppet
536 Posts
daugela said:
I've been riding clipless (Shimano M540) for about 2 months now. Maybe 45 miles a week?

Recently, I noticed a tremendous amount of play in one of the pedals. I took it apart, re-packed, etc and found the play was still there.

How long do pedals last in riding conditions like AZ?

I ride 4 times a week - mainly National. Nothing extreme. 3 foot drops max.

Is Southwest riding THAT hard on clipless pedals and should I expect to replace them this often with my riding style? Surely, pedals should last longer. Thanks
I've had the springs go [email protected] on one of my shimano spd's... but they were used when I got them and served me well for 1-2 years. Dry and dusty shouldnt be very hard on something like a pedal. Mud on the other hand would. Are you sure its not the regular degree of freeplay?

·
Registered
Pivot Firebird
470 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
dirtrodr said:
I've had the springs go [email protected] on one of my shimano spd's... but they were used when I got them and served me well for 1-2 years. Dry and dusty shouldnt be very hard on something like a pedal. Mud on the other hand would. Are you sure its not the regular degree of freeplay?
Well, seeing that I've never ridden clipless until now, it could be the freeplay, but I doubt it.