Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
223 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am looking to build up a large nomad. What parts should i get?
My budget is about 700 for parts not including the money for the wheels and fork.
I am going to get a used fox 36 or lyrik for the fork and as far as wheels i hop to spend 500 at most.

ps already have frame.

·
Registered
61 Posts
sounds like you spend too much of your budget on the frame. I think in general the rule is, ~50% of money on frame and 50% on parts

Anyways, I would go for a marzocchi 66 or all mountain fork ( they are cheaper than the fox and people are pretty split between the two), i have no experience with the lyric. Depending on your riding style I would also suggest the azonic outlaw wheelsets casue they are really cheap (~$250) and everyone seems to like them, stay away fromwel known wheelsets, they are very overpriced imo (anything mavic, DT, CK). For everything else, it depends on what your type of riding, look for last years models for the cheapest and look on ebay. I like price matching on cambriabike.com. Good luck staying under 800$ unless you get a bunch of used parts.

·
Registered
223 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
500 for wheels
+
800 for fork
+
700 drivetrain
=
2200 for parts

1550 frame
Sorry i didn't make that clear.
As far as the 66 goes i prefer equal travel front and rear.

·
Registered
223 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I ride mostley heavy trails with 5-6 foot drops and lots of rocky climbs. I also spend a fair amount of time doing dirt jumps. I am thinking about a mix of downhill components and cross country. Possibly a mix of saint and xtr parts.

·
Registered
400 Posts
ikilledkenny2 said:
My budget is about 800 for parts not including wheels and fork.
ikilledkenny2 said:
700 drivetrain
ikilledkenny2 said:
As far as the 66 goes i prefer equal travel front and rear.
ikilledkenny2 said: