Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to buy a new toolkit and was wondering why Park Tools was so much more expensive. It seems like you can buy the same amount of Sette tools for half the price of Park Tools. I'm just getting into bike maintnence and was wondering what was best for me. I want to spend less than $150.
Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
6,803 Posts
Park Tools is what most LBS and race teams use. They are professional grade equipment designed for thousands of repairs, compared to Sette- which is geared towards the occasional home DIY'er, and hence half the cost.

·
Registered
2,006 Posts
Park - Made in the USA
Sette - Made in China

I'm not against using cheaper tools, especially if I am only going to use it once in a while. Like I just bought the cheapest Park home-use pedal wrench, and I would have gotten a Chinese one if it was available.

But in the shop, where I might remove 30 pairs of pedals a week, I am going to reach for the Park pro pedal wrench every time. Not only will it last for a decade, it is designed to maximum leverage and ease-of-use.

For the home mechanic, where you might do any particular job once a year, and you will have more time to do it, then it doesn't matter if you use American-made allen keys or a chain whip.

I do have a lot of Park professional tools in my tool box because I think they work the best, making my job easier and faster when I am on my own time.

·
Former Bike Wrench
15,976 Posts
As a former bicycle mechanic, most of my bike tools are Park. I worked for a couple shops where I needed to supply my own tools and the Park stuff never let me down. And the shops that supplied the tools always used Park as well. I also have a few Shimano tools as well that are very high quality