Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a relative newbie to fatbikes. My first, a Surly Moonlander, is now about 3 months old. I'm hooked. It is a riot.

It was a LBS demo. I completely disassembled it. Treated the frame and fork with Framsaver. I also replaced the stock Andel BB with a Shimano unit and added the Chris King BB sleeve to address any potential moisture issues.

The BFL tires throw AN AWFUL LOT of road/trail crap into my face and into the drivetrain. Not fun! So I started looking for mudguards...

I've been searching for something suitable for the last several months. A tip steered my to Big O manufacturing. About two weeks ago they announced that they had brought their Moonlander set to market, so I ordered some. Pretty decent.

The set from Big O look to be a softer ABS plastic and have a crinkle/irregular finish to the outer surface. Have any folks painted them? If so, what did you do to get a smooth gloss finish?

I have never shot (painted) this softer - flexible pastic. How do you smooth it out? Multiple heavy coats of two part epoxy primer/filler sanded between coats? Any/all tips and suggestions are appreciated.

·
Registered
662 Posts
There used to be a product called plasticoat. I used it on the soft vinyl on my jet ski chin pad 10+ years ago and it still looks great. Google it!

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
If I am reading the Plasticoat information correctly, it seems like it is a rubberized paint. I'm looking for someing that will adhere well to ABS plastic, and fill in/level out the surface irregularities and serve as a appropriate base coat for a subsequent gloss finish coat which I can stripe/detail/decal.

Thoughts?

·
Registered
2,110 Posts