Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
411 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I wasn’t sure where else to post this. I am about to attempt painting a full suspension carbon frame bike.

Does anyone have any recommendations for the most durable paint and/or topcoat?

I’ll also be installing a vinyl frame protection kit after I finished painting it.

i’m going to do rattle can and I’m OK with buying expensive paint like a 2K or something like that. From what I’ve read the activated paints seem much more durable.

Thanks!

·
Registered
553 Posts
I sell paint for a living. I specialize in industrial coatings, epoxies, urethanes, etc.

Yes an activated or cross linked paint is going to generally be the most durable. But buying the right paint is the easy part. Whats in the bike now? What kind of finish are you looking for?

·
Ian Limburg
*Custom* 2016 Rocky Mountain Thunderbolt 770 MSL
108 Posts
I wasn’t sure where else to post this. I am about to attempt painting a full suspension carbon frame bike.

Does anyone have any recommendations for the most durable paint and/or topcoat?

I’ll also be installing a vinyl frame protection kit after I finished painting it.

i’m going to do rattle can and I’m OK with buying expensive paint like a 2K or something like that. From what I’ve read the activated paints seem much more durable.

Thanks!

IMG_4196.JPG

Above are pictures of the custom paint on my current carbon fiber MTB. I bought it off a guy who has done multiple bikes and always does a custom paint job. The paint itself that he used looks very nice and I'll enclose a picture of the type he used below. Next is to find a good finish/top coat to go on top of the paint, of which I don't know much about. Good luck!

·
Registered
411 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I sell paint for a living. I specialize in industrial coatings, epoxies, urethanes, etc.