Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Hooligan
992 Posts
i like the alien 3, i had the 2 for years, and when my cammelbak was stolen i replaced it with the 3. it's essentially the same, but with some updated tools for modern bikes. it hasn't failed me yet.

·
Registered
2,943 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Actually I do pack the crank bros bike tool also...

But I don't know of any bike multi tools that have a knife and pliers... alien 3 included.

·
Elitest thrill junkie
35,408 Posts
I don't think I'd want my rear to break.

·
Registered
2,943 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
I like 2.1 oz weight but still need a few allen wrenches
I have yet to see a multi-tool that has all of below :
1) pliers
2) knife
3) chain tool
4) allens
5) bottle opener.

The point of this thread was for the "plier" leatherman type multi-tool. Not the bike multi-tool. I carry the crank bros, and this squirt.

·
EDR
10,103 Posts
I've been carrying a Leatherman juice c2 for 10 years. Also carry a Crank Brothers multi tool and a Spyderco Delica knife. There is no substitute for a quality sharp knife.

·
Registered
2,943 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
$hit... forgot about the corkscrew.... 2007 Shiraz is a must on those 50 mile rides...

But seriously the juice is a nice tool.

·
Registered
2,943 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
No need for a beer bottle opener if you roll with SPD pedals. Those things are awesome bottle openers.
actually, I discovered that for the first time like 2 weeks ago... and I have been riding spd pedals since like 1994... go figure... heck I drink mostly pbr and fosters oil cans anyway...

·
Elitest thrill junkie
35,408 Posts

·
Elitest thrill junkie
35,408 Posts
For me the Leatherman is an additional item to carry along with a multitool, not a replacement. I use and love the Crank Bros M19 and the Leatherman Squirt.