Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The wife has allowed me to run with the checkbook, so I want to make an informed decision. I am 5'10" tall and weigh around 215 pounds. I have only been riding for 2 weeks but have had a chance to ride some nice bikes. Our trails around here are technical with rock gardens, nice uphills and narrow twisting and winding downhills. Basically the trails are a mixed bag, quite a few roots as well. Since I am going to be ordering a frame and doing a complete build and looking at spending around 5-6k I want to get it right.

The frames I am considering are the:

Pivot Mach 429
Turner Sultan
Intense Tracer 29
Niner RIP9 or WFO

are any of these a good choice or is there one that basically stands out above the rest, or is there another one I should consider(I thought about the Yeti SB-95 but its not available yet).

Like I stated I am a newbie so I am wanting a bike that is forgiving for someone with a limited skill set, but would grow with me as my riding improves. I hope I have given enough info. One other note I am not a racer type I just want a great all around trail bike thats gonna help me gain confidence and be a little forgiving and just enjoy riding.

·
Registered
3,966 Posts
I'm voting WFO, simply because I ride one and love it. I have ridden the Intense, nice bike but for the money I went with the WFO as I felt it pedaled better and was stiffer all the way around. FYI i'm 230 lbs myself and it has held up great so far.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm voting WFO, simply because I ride one and love it. I have ridden the Intense, nice bike but for the money I went with the WFO as I felt it pedaled better and was stiffer all the way around. FYI i'm 230 lbs myself and it has held up great so far.
The WFO is not too slack, I was concerned it was more of a downhill bike than an all around trail bike

·
Registered
442 Posts