Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
mbtr member
6,503 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
changed to some aztec pads after the stock hayes pads wore out after only 300 miles(is this typical?) these pads overheat- blacken the rotor and don't stop so good after a little use. Should i just throw these pads on the back and just get oem hayes pads for the front in the future, or is my 225lb lardass just more man than they can handle? Maybe i should opt for a bigger front rotor? I'd love some wisdom, internet.

·
Meh.
17,508 Posts
Don't brake like a soccer mom would be my first suggestion. Don't just wail on the brakes.

If you're experiencing fade, a bleed may help. All my brakes are bled with DOT 5.1. After a while, brake fluid gets old and nasty, and absorbs moisture from the atmosphere. And thus the boiling point lowers.

I have no experience with Aztec pads. Pad wear is dependent on what type of terrain, what sort of weather, and how the rider brakes.

·
mbtr member
6,503 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
XSL_WiLL said:
Don't brake like a soccer mom would be my first suggestion. Don't just wail on the brakes.

If you're experiencing fade, a bleed may help. All my brakes are bled with DOT 5.1. After a while, brake fluid gets old and nasty, and absorbs moisture from the atmosphere. And thus the boiling point lowers.
so... i should ride slower? :skep:

change pads and fade appears, so i should check my brake fluid? :skep:

so, is 300 miles a normal lifespan for front pads, and would it make sense to change to a larger rotor?

tia!

·
Meh.
17,508 Posts
scottzg said:
so... i should ride slower? :skep:

change pads and fade appears, so i should check my brake fluid? :skep:

so, is 300 miles a normal lifespan for front pads, and would it make sense to change to a larger rotor?

tia!
No, you should brake better and more effectively.

Air in the system or old DOT fluid can really hinder the performance of the brakes. And IMO, it is worth checking.