Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anybody have experience breeding dogs?

I have a male Boston Terrier. My vet just notified me that a client of his has a female in heat. What kind of fee can I charge for stud services. Is it monetary or can I pick a puppy?

Any help appreciated. This is my first time doing this.

·
Registered
1,110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I knew someone...

I knew someone make remark ;) .

He is AKC registered. I would really like to get pick of the litter, but I don't want to sound off base. Still, I don't want to be jerked around because of my inexperiece.

·
Don't worry, be happy!
8,141 Posts
you might want to check breeding guidelines for you breed. It's not just a matter of AKC to AKC, but you should check for the breed strengths and weaknesses that each dog would bring into the mix. A reputable experieced breeder could help you here. Breeding without looking into these things is how you get purebred dogs that have temperament problems, hip displaysia, eye problems and so on depending on the breed.

·
Premium Member
7,610 Posts
I'm going to second what formica said. AKC papers are good for wiping your rear and basically nothing else. All they do is track that two registered dogs were mated. They tell you nothing about the quaility of the animals that were bred, their temperment, or the specific genetic issues of the line.