·
Registered
3,544 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Lil' background first....

I graduated from college in '96. Since then my job history looks like this:
Jan. '97 - now: Current job
Fall '97 - now: Parttime work at a national outdoor retailer

During the mid/late 90s, I also worked parttime at a golf course and helped run several of the climbing walls in town. But do I want to go back that far on my applications or resume?

I went to college from '90 - '96 and held a handful of parttime jobs...are those even considered relevant 10+ years later? Although I think I would at least put on my internship that I had from '95 - '96.

Not really looking for a job, but I at least want to start putting together an updated resume for when I do start looking for another gig.

Thanks

Nick

·
Registered
11,774 Posts
Let the potential employer

determine how years they want you to go back. The important thing is tweaking all of those jobs so as to make them relevant to the job your applying for.

·
Registered
351 Posts
If the work was relevant to your potential position then list it. If you are going for some type of office job they wont care about the golf course work.

Also, you can just put a blurb in by your education saying that you worked part time in college just to show that you are industrious and to off-set any potential bad grades.

·
Freshly Fujified
8,199 Posts
Real world advice

List the post college jobs only. List your full time job as the first job block, and be sure to show any progression of job function within that job block. IF and only if the part time job is relevant to what you want to do in the next job change, list it, and go into detail. If not, either don't list it at all (might be a turn off to potential employers who have expectations of your work hours) or just list the title, name of employer and one sentence describing the functionality of the job. Be sure that when you list the dates you specify in parenthesis (part time).